| Home | Call for papers | Organizers | Paper Submission | Advance Program | Important Dates | Venue & Access | RTCSA 2012 | Prior CPSNA Meetings |

  • Best paper award is presented to Jason Aumiller, Shinpei Kato, Nikolaus Rath and Scott Brandt,
    for the paper entitled "Supporting Low-Latency CPS using Many-Core Devices". Congratulations !
  • Advance Program is posted
  • Venue & Access is available
  • Submission deadline is extended to May 20, 2012
  • Submission site is open: click here to submit your paper
  • Mar 30, 2012 : Call for papers is updated.
  • Dec 17, 2011 : Web page is set up.


CPSNA 2012 will focus on the design and implementation challenges of cyber-physical systems. Given a tight integration of computation and the physical world, cyber-physical systems must compose robust systems, networks, and applications built upon predictable, analyzable, and certifiable models and abstractions. CPSNA 2012 will serve as a forum to discuss new ideas for such core challenges of cyber-physical systems. Workshop papers will be published in the conference proceedings by IEEE.


Cyber-physical systems represent a next generation of embedded systems featuring a tight integration of computational and physical elements. Emerging applications of cyber-physical systems include transportation, healthcare, energy, manufacturing, entertainment, consumer electronics, environmental monitoring, and aerospace, all of which will be essential pieces of our social infrastructure. A grander vision of cyber-physical systems, however, faces a core challenge of multidisciplinary research collaborations, as their relevant technologies appear in diverse areas of science and engineering. The objective of this workshop is to explore innovative, exciting, and fresh ideas for cyber-physical systems. Contributions should emphasize on the design, implementation, and evaluation of systems, networks, and applications. The scope of CPSNA 2012 will give due consideration in all areas of research that facilitate collaborations between cyber-physical systems and existing technologies. Topics of special interest include, but are not limited to, the following:
  • Embedded and real-time systems
  • Sensor networks
  • Timing analysis and verification methods and tools
  • Dependable computing
  • Ubiquitous and pervasive computing, ambient intelligence
  • Cloud and distributed computing
  • Data-intensive computing, data mining
  • Multicore and GPU programming
  • Architecture, compiler, and OS support
  • Experimental prototype systems
  • Project report on multidisciplinary research collaborations
  • Emerging applications of cyber-physical systems: autonomous vehicles, healthcare robots, smart buildings, smart grids, medical devices, virtual reality interfaces, infrastructure monitoring systems, etc.
CPSNA 2012 especially seeks papers from, but not limited to, students and young researchers. Case studies and evaluation of existing technologies are also welcome.

Important Dates
  • Submission deadline: May 20, 2012 (11:59pm Pacific Time)
  • Notification: June 19, 2012
  • Camera-ready version: TBD
  • Workshop: August 19, 2012

Submission Guidelines

CPSNA 2012 invites submissions of full and short papers. Full papers must present complete work, while short papers may include work in progress. Submitted papers must adhere to page limits of 6 pages for full papers and 4 pages for short papers. The paper formats must follow 8.5-inch by 11-inch with two columns using a font size of 10 pt. In order to avoid violation of these instructions, authors are encouraged to use the IEEE proceedings template available on the following website: http://www.ieee.org/conferences_events/conferences/publishing/

Accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings by IEEE. At least one author of each accepted paper must register and attend the workshop. Full papers must provide 30-minute presentation. Short papers must present their work in the poster/demo session instead of 30-minute presentation (authors can choose posters or demos).

Program Co-Chairs

Insik Shin, KAIST, Korea
Songhwai Oh, Seoul National University, Korea


Arvind Easwaran, Honeywell, USA
Li-Pin Chang, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
Jian-Jia Chen, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Shinpei Kato, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA
Sung-Soo Lim, Kookmin University, Korea
Hiroki Matsutani, Keio University, Japan
Songhwai Oh, Seoul National University, Korea
Insik Shin, KAIST, Korea

Program Committee

Benny Akesson, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Lars Bauer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Moris Behnam, Malardalen University, Portugal
Konstantinos Bletsas, Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal
Tommaso Cucinotta, Bell Labs, Ireland
Yaser Fallah, West Virginia University, USA
Jen-Wei Hsieh, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
Kanghee Kim, Soongsil University, Korea
Kyong Hoon Kim, Kyoungsang National University, Korea
Jinkyu Lee, University of Michigan, USA
Kyoungwoo Lee, Yonsei University, Korea
Naoya Maruyama, RIKEN AICS, Japan
Sibin Mohan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Thomas Nolte, Malardalen University, Sweden
Kyung-Joon Park, DGIST, Korea
Rodolfo Pellizzoni, University of Waterloo, Canada
Linh Thi Xuan Phan, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Hyunok Oh, Hanyang University, Korea
Anthony Rowe, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Hiroshi Sasaki, Kyushu University, Japan
Aaron Smith, Microsoft Research, USA
Yi Wang, Hong Kong Polytech University, China

Steering Committee

Tei-Wei Kuo, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Tatsuo Nakajima, Waseda University, Japan
Joseph K. Ng, Hong Kong Baptist University, China
Seongsoo Hong, Seoul National University, Korea
Sang H. Son, University of Virginia, USA